How to Identify Genealogy Scams
On a related note, there are also other Web sites on the net which make money in similar ways. Another series of genealogy sites that I've run into appear to be run by a company that calls itself Software Doctor, Inc. These include a host of sites such as birthrecords.ws, pennsylvania-records.com, freerecordsregistry.com, family-genealogy-search.com, etc. You can see an example of their affiliate program in this 2007 newsletter posted at softwaredoctor.com, but what I find intriguing is that the primary softwaredoctor.com URL now redirects to Google...
So how do you protect yourself from scams such as these. Unfortunately, many of these sites pay for high placement in search results on Google and other sites. Many also appear as "sponsored links" on reputable Web sites that support Google advertising, including Ancestry.com and even this site. This makes it appear the fraudulent site is being endorsed by the Web site on which it appears, although that is generally not the case. Therefore, before you provide anyone with credit card details or payment, check out the site and its claims to see what you can learn. There are a number of things you can do to identify and protect yourself from genealogy scams.


Comments
Basically, it comes down to not clicking on anything you’re not sure about…but how do you find out without clicking?! A catch-22, especially for people just starting out. Maybe you might be able to produce a blog of ‘trusted’ sites (ie: familysearch.org, ancestry.com, incline.com. Also, possibly a reference could be added (if it’s not there already) to the ‘getting started’ section on about/genealogy.
On another note, I love your site, and refer to it often, as well as subscribe to the RSS feed. Please keep up the good work, and good hunting.
Almost forgot: Cyndislist.com
Uh, calling Ancestry.com a “reputable” site is, cough, stretching the truth a bit, eh? They are scam artists and outright thieves. The management are criminals that belong in jail.
Ancestry.com is a for-profit company that supplies its subscribers with genealogical information as promised in their advertising. Shame on you BittenBy for your name calling. All you have to do is not subscribe if you don’t like the company.
And if YOU were reputable, you’d be willing to post your real name.
Janice Brown
Thank you, Janice, for your comment! Yes, Ancestry.com is a reputable company that is open and honest about what it offers to subscribers. If anyone has a personal issue with Ancestry.com or wants to cancel a subscription, you can contact them directly through Ancestry Customer Help.
Thank you very much for the kind comments about my site, Francis!!! That’s a good suggestion too
Regarding ancestry.com. I bought an older copy of Family Tree Maker, with a slip inside offering a one-month free trial. I registered for the offer and was surprised to find that it had become a one-year free trial. I thoroughly used that year, and then cancelled with no problem (the reason for the cancellation was that I’m a little strapped for money at the moment, otherwise…). Anyways, that’s my 2 (I guess it’s 3, now) cents worth.
Ancestry’s ethics, poor quality control and dealing with customers have been the subject of complaints for many years. Too many sins to list here.
See the Ancestry User message board for a sample:
http://boards.rootsweb.com/topics.ancestry.ancsite/mb.ashx
Also, one of those sites that Ancestry claims is “fraudulent” - Ancestry-search.com -
shows Ancestry.com under “Sponsored Listings” - which seems to indicate Ancestry is paying them for click-throughs. I couldn’t find any place on that site that asks for money, it just lists other genealogy sites.
For several years I had two web sites on My Family.com but when Ancestry.com took over they told me my two week free trial had expired and all I had to do was pay about $169.00 to maintain the sites and locked me out. Ancestry.com offers free search however having made the search, in order to see the record they want to charge a fee, is this free … da. GenForum is also a site that they took over, one a person could make a posting on. However, now a person is allowed to read any posting but to make one there is a fee. Yes Ancestry.com is a great site for those who are wealthy, but beware some of the information displayed comes from sources that are not accurate! Keep working on it and perhaps in one of these days they will learn of the “Golden Rule.”