1. Parenting
Virginia Vital Records
How to Obtain Virginia Birth, Death & Marriage Records
     Email to a friend

Related Resources
• Virginia Genealogy
• Vital Records 101
• Surname Meanings & Origins

About Genealogy
Subscribe to the Free Newsletter
Your Email Address:

 


Birth | Death | Marriage | Divorce | Adoption

Address:
Office of Vital Records and Health Statistics
State Health Department
P.O. Box 1000
Richmond, VA 23218-1000
Phone: (804) 225-5000

Remarks: Check or money order should be made payable to State Health Department. Personal checks are accepted. Call or visit the Web site to verify current fees.

Web site:  Virginia Office of Vital Records


Event: Birth

Dates: From 1853-1896 and June 14, 1912 to present

Cost of copy: $10.00

Comments: Access to birth records in Virginia is restricted for 100 years to all but immediate family members (aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, grandparents, etc. are not considered to be immediate family members). With your request include as much as you can of the following: the name on the birth record being requested, date of birth, place of birth (city or county), father's full name, (last, first, middle), mothers full name, including her maiden name, your relationship to the individual named on the certificate, the reason for your request, your daytime telephone number with area code, your mailing address and your signature.  
Application for Birth Record

* Only the cities of Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk and Richmond have records between 1896 and June 14, 1912

* The Library of Virginia, Archives Division also has copies of surviving birth records for the period 1853-1896. They do not, however, offer search or copy services so you will have to visit in person or have someone else visit for you. You can also borrow the records on microfilm through interlibrary loan.


Event: Death

Dates: From 1853-1896 and June 14, 1912 to present

Cost of copy: $10.00

Comments: Access to death records in Virginia is restricted for 50 years to all but immediate family members (aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, grandparents, etc. are not considered to be immediate family members). With your request include as much as you can of the following: the name on the death record being requested, date of death, place of death (city or county), your relationship to the individual named on the certificate, the reason for your request, your daytime telephone number with area code, your mailing address and your signature.
Application for Death Record

* Only the cities of Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk and Richmond have records between 1896 and June 14, 1912

* The Library of Virginia, Archives Division also has copies of surviving death records for the period 1853-1896 and death certificates for 1912-1939. They do not, however, offer search or copy services so you will have to visit in person or have someone else visit for you. You can also borrow the records on microfilm through interlibrary loan (the death certificates 1912-1939 microfilm is not available through interlibrary loan).

You can also search online:
Virginia Death Records Indexing Project, 1853-1896 (this database is still under construction - you can visit this page to see which counties are currently covered)


Event: Marriage

Dates: From 1853

Cost of copy: $10.00

Comments: Access to marriage records in Virginia is restricted for 50 years to all but immediate family members (aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, grandparents, etc. are not considered to be immediate family members).  With your request, include as much as you know of the following: full names of bride and groom (including bride's maiden name), the date of marriage, the place (city, county) of marriage, your relationship to the people named on the certificate, the reason for your request, your daytime telephone number with area code, your mailing address and your signature.  
Application for Marriage Record

* The Library of Virginia, Archives Division also has copies of surviving marriage registers for the period 1853-1935, including a statewide index. They do not, however, offer search or copy services so you will have to visit in person or have someone else visit for you. You can also borrow the records on microfilm through interlibrary loan.

* Some marriages prior to June 1853 were recorded at the local courthouse in the county where the marriage occurred and can be obtained by writing to the Clerk of Court. Fees vary.


Event: Divorce

Dates: From January 1918

Cost of copy: $10.00

Comments: Access to divorce records in Virginia is restricted for 50 years to all but immediate family members (aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, grandparents, etc. are not considered to be immediate family members). With your request, include as much as you know of the following: full names of husband and wife, the date of divorce, the place (city, county) of divorce, your relationship to the people named on the certificate, the reason for your request, your daytime telephone number with area code, your mailing address and your signature. 
Application for Divorce Record

* Divorce records are also available from the local courthouse in the county where the divorce occurred and can be obtained by writing to the Clerk of Court. Fees and years available may vary.


Event: Adoption

Comments: Adoption records are sealed in the Commonwealth of Virginia and you should contact the Virginia Department of Social Services for information and the forms to be completed and submitted. For more information on adoption search, see Adoption Search Resources.

 

Find Vital Records for Other States & Countries

 

URL: http://genealogy.about.com/library/vital/blvirginia.htm
© 2001-2004 Kimberly Powell and About.com.  All Rights Reserved.

 
 
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.