1. Parenting
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Genealogical Competitions, Scholarships & Contests


11. The Michael Clark Family History Writing Competition

This annual genealogy writing competition sponsored by the Minnesota Genealogical Society judges entries based on the basis of originality, writing quality, documentation of evidence, and suitability for publication.
Deadline: 15 July

12. National Genealogical Society Writing Competitions

The National Genealogical Society offers a number of writing awards each year:

  • Family History Writing Contest
  • Award for Excellence: Genealogy and Family History Book
  • Award for Excellence: Genealogical Methods and Sources

Winners for all three are announced at the annual NGS conference.
Deadline: 31 January

13. NGS Home Study Course Scholarship Award

An scholarship which covers the complete cost of the NGS American Genealogy: A Home Study Course (approximately $475 value) is awarded annually to a deserving individual. Application is by essay and preference is given to individuals "who have demonstrated serious interest in genealogy by attending regional and/or local conferences, undertaking genealogical training, and subscribing to genealogical publications." Applicants must be an NGS member.
Deadline: 31 January

14. NGS Newsletter Competition

This annual competition recognizes outstanding newsletters published by genealogical or historical society or association. Applicants must be a NGS member organization.
Deadline: 31 December

15. Ohio Genealogical Society Writing Contest

This annual genealogy writing contest selects winning articles in two categories categories. Two first prize winners (one in each category) will receive his/her choice of a one-year OGS membership or free admission to the OGS Annual Fall Seminar. All winning entries will also be considered for publication in either Ohio Genealogy News (OGN) or the Ohio Genealogical Society Quarterly (OGSQ). Articles should focus on Ohio history and genealogy, Ohio records groups, Ohioans who left to settle elsewhere or Ohio families.
Deadline: 1 March

16. Oklahoma Genealogical Society Family Story Writing Contest

Open to all genealogists (membership in OGS not required), this annual family story writing contest accepts stories of all types, up to 2500 words. There should be some connection to Oklahoma, either in the story or through the author's residence.
Deadline: 28 February

17. Ontario Genealogical Society - Keffer Writing Contest

Unpublished genealogical writing focused on Canada or Ontario and genealogy are eligible for cash prizes in this annual contest sponsored by the Ontario Genealogical Society. If mutually agreeable, the winning entries will be published in Families.
Deadline: 1 November 

18. Richard S. Lackey Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to "an experienced researcher employed in a paid or volunteer position, in the services of the genealogical community," this $500 scholarship covers full tuition at the (National Institute of Genealogical Research) NIGR, plus attendance at the Alumni Association dinner. Hotel and/or meal costs will be partially defrayed.
Deadline: 15 January

19. Rubincam Youth Award

Established in 1986 to honor Milton Rubincam, CG, FASG, FNGS, the Rubincam Youth Award is given annually to a student in two age categories for a prepared genealogy. The award winner in the Junior category (grades 7-9) receives a plaque, the NGS Home Study Course and a one-year NGS membership. The Senior Award winner (grades 10-12) receives a $500 cash prize, the NGS Home Study course and a one-year NGS membership. Winning submissions may appear in the NGS NewsMagazine.
Deadline: 31 January

20. The Ruth C. Bishop Volunteer Hall of Honor Award

This prestigious award sponsored by the Federation of Genealogical Societies recognizes the generous spirit and work ethic of genealogical society volunteers, both present and past. Ruth Bishop, a special friend of FGS, personally presents the prestigious Living Volunteer Award to the recipient at the annual FGS conference banquet. The award winner also receives airfare, hotel, conference registration, and a banquet ticket for the annual FGS Conference. A cash award of $1,000.00 is also awarded to the nominating society of the Living Volunteer winner.
Deadline: 17 April

21. The SCGS GENEii Family History Writers Contest

The annual GENEii Family History Writers Contest, now in its tenth year, offers cash prizes in two categories: 1) Family or local history articles of 1,000–2,000 words in length (published or unpublished) and 2) Family or local history articles of 1,000 words or less (published or unpublished). Stories that concern any aspect of family or local history from anywhere and from any era are welcome.
Deadline: 31 December 

22. Texas State Genealogical Society - Awards & Scholarships

The Texas State Genealogical Society (TSGS) awards a number of different scholarships, grants and cash prizes for partner societies or individual members of TSGS, including a number of writing competitions, website awards and a student scholarship. Application requirements and deadlines vary for each program so check the website for details. 
Deadline: varies by competition 

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.