1. Parenting
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Alaska Vital Records - Births, Deaths & Marriages

By

Address:


Bureau of Health and Social Services
Bureau of Vital Statistics
5441 Commercial Blvd.
Juneau, AK 99801
Phone: (907) 465-3391
Fax: (907) 465-3618

Check or money order should be made payable to Bureau of Vital Statistics. Credit card payment is available for an extra $11.00 fee. Call or visit the Web site to verify current fees and to request a certificate of birth, death or marriage.

Web site: Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics

Birth Records:

Dates: From January 1913

Cost of copy: $20.00

Comments: Alaska state law restricts access to the individual and his or her parents for 100 years after the date of birth. Include the full name as it appears on the birth certificate; the date of birth; the town, city or village where the birth occurred; the father's name; the mother's first and maiden name; and your relationship to the person named on the birth certificate.

Requests MUST also include a copy of a picture I.D. of the applicant. Make sure the copy is legible and include your signature under the copied ID.
Application for Alaska Birth Certificate

Death Records:

Dates: From January 1913

Cost of copy: $20.00

Comments: Alaska state law restricts access for 50 years after the date of death to family members and their legal representatives. Include the name of the deceased person as it appears on the death certificate; the date of death; the town, city or village where the death occurred; the reason why you are requesting the record; and your relationship to the person named on the death certificate.

If you are not the spouse or parent of the deceased person and it has been less than 50 years, a letter or document from the office or the agency that needs the death certificate must be submitted with the request. Requests must also include a copy of a picture I.D. of the applicant.
Application for Alaska Death Certificate

Marriage Records:

Dates: From January 1913

Cost of Copy: $20.00

Comments: Alaska state law restricts access for 50 years after the date of marriage. If you are not the bride or groom, and the marriage took place within the last 50 years, a letter or document from the office or agency requiring the marriage certificate must be sent in with the request.

Include the grooms full name, the first and maiden name of the bride, the date of marriage, the place of marriage, the reason you need the record, and your relationship to the person whose record is requested. Requests must also include a copy of a picture I.D. of the applicant.
Application for Alaska Marriage Certificate

Divorce Records:

Dates: From January 1950

Cost of copy: $20.00

Comments: Alaska state law restricts access for 50 years after the date of divorce. Include the husband's first and last name, the wife's first and maiden name, the date of divorce, the place of divorce, the reason you need the record, and your relationship to the person whose record is requested.

For divorces prior to 1950 contact the Clerk of Superior Court in judicial district where divorce was granted. Juneau and Ketchikan (First District), Nome (Second District), Anchorage (Third District), and Fairbanks (Fourth District).
Application for Alaska Divorce Certificate

U.S. Vital Records Index - Select a State

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.