1. Parenting
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Arizona Vital Records - Births, Deaths & Marriages

By

Marriages
Bartomeu Amengual/Age Fotostock

Address:


Office of Vital Records
Arizona Department of Health Services
P.O. Box 3887
Phoenix, AZ 85030-3887
Phone: (602) 364-1300

Personal checks are NOT accepted. Money orders should be made payable to Office of Vital Records. Debit cards, Visa and MasterCard are also accepted. Call or visit the Web site to verify current fees or to apply for a certificate of birth, death or marriage.

Applicants must submit a copy of picture identification or have their request notarized.

Birth Records:

Dates: From July 1909. Abstracts of birth records filed in counties before 1909 can also be obtained, when available.

Cost of copy: $15.00 for a certified copy, $10.00 from 1990 to present (certified computer copies), $3.00 for non-certified genealogy copies for births recorded more than 75 years ago

Comments: Access to birth certificates is limited to the registrant and immediate family members for births which occurred within the past 75 years.

With your request, include as much as you can of the following information: the full name of the person listed on the certificate, date of birth, place of birth, full name of father, full maiden name of mother, your relationship to the person whose certificate you are requesting, the reason for your request, your address and signature. Don't forget the photocopy of your drivers license or other photo ID (or you can have your request notarized).
Application for Arizona Birth Certificate
Births from 1887 to 1929 can be searched online at Arizona Genealogy Births and Deaths. This includes digital copies of the birth records. Non-certified copies of birth certificates older than 75 years are also available through the Arizona State History and Archives Division of the Arizona State Library.

Death Records:

Dates: From July 1909

Cost of copy: $10.00, $3.00 for non-certified genealogy copies for deaths recorded more than 50 years ago

Comments: State law restricts access to death records less than 50 years old to the registrant, spouse or an immediate family member (mother, father, sister, brother, or adult child).

With your request, include as much as you can of the following information: the full legal name of the deceased; the date of death; the county; sex; date of birth or age at death; race; name of spouse; name of parents; the reason why you are requesting the record; and your relationship to the person named on the death certificate.
Application for Arizona Death Certificate
Deaths from 1878 to 1954 can be searched online at Arizona Genealogy Births and Deaths. This includes digital copies of the death certificates. Non-certified copies of death certificates older than 50 years are also available through the Arizona State History and Archives Division of the Arizona State Library.

Marriage Records:

Dates: Varies

Cost of Copy: Varies

Comments: Available from Clerk of Superior Court in county where marriage license was issued.

Divorce Records:

Dates: varies

Cost of copy: varies

Comments: Available from Clerk of Superior Court in the county where divorce was granted.

>> U.S. Vital Records Index - Select a State

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.