Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Vital Records Section HSVR-VR-A1
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Phone: (303) 692-2200
Check or money order should be made payable to Vital Records Section. You can also pay with a credit card, but an extra $9 convenience charge will be added. Call or visit the Web site to verify current fees. All requests for birth and death record must be accompanied by a photo copy of the requestor's identification. Web site: Colorado Vital Records & Certificates
Dates: From 1910
Cost of copy: $17.75
Comments: Colordo state law restricts access to the registrant, immediate family members or others representing a tangible intereste in the record. With your request, include as much as you can of the following information: the full name of the person listed on the certificate, date of birth, place of birth, full name of father, full maiden name of mother, your relationship to the person whose certificate you are requesting, your address and daytime phone number.
Dates: From 1900
Cost of copy: $17.00
Comments: Colorado state law restricts access to the registrant and family members, genealogists representing the family, or others with a tangible interest. With your request, include as much as you can of the following information: the full legal name of the deceased, date of death, county of death, sex, date of birth, race, name of spouse, name of parents, the reason for your request and your relationship to the person named on the death certificate.
Dates: From 1900
Cost of Copy: Varies
Comments: The Colorado State Vital Records Department does not issue marriage certificates; you'll need to contact the county clerk in the county where the license was obtained. The Colorado State Vital Records office will verify marriage information for the years 1900-1939 and 1975 to the present. A grooms only marriage index for 1900-1930 is available from Vital Records, the Denver Public Library and the Colorado State Archives.
Denver Marriage Certificates + Index, 1861-1868
Early Arapahoe County marriages, including the city of Denver.
Gilpin County Brides' and Grooms' Marriage Index, 1864-1944
A free online index from the Colorado State Archives.
Dates: Some date back to 1851; most date from 1900
Cost of copy: Varies
Comments: Certified copies of divorce certificates are not available from the Colorado State Health Department; contact the Clerk of District Court in the county where the divorce was granted. A statewide index of divorce records for 1900-1939 is available (not online) at the Colorado State Archives and Denver Public Library.
Online Divorce Records Index, 1880-1939 (free)
Provides names of divorcees, docket number, divorce date and county. Part of the Colorado Historical Records Index from the Colorado State Archives.