1. Parenting
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Utah Vital Records - Births, Deaths & Marriages

By

Learn how and where to obtain birth, marriage, and death certificates and records in Utah, including the dates for which Utah vital records are available, where they are located, and links to online Utah vital records databases.

Utah Vital Records:

Office of Vital Records & Statistics
Utah Department of Health
288 North 1460 West
P.O. Box 141012
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1012
Phone: (801) 538-6105

What You Need to Know:
Check or money order should be made payable to Utah Vital Records. Personal checks are accepted. Additional copies of records, when requested at the same time, are $8.00 each. Call or visit the Web site to verify current fees.

Web site: Utah Office of Vital Records


Utah Birth Records:

Dates: From 1905*

Cost of copy: $18.00 (certified)

Comments: The Utah Vital Records & Statistics maintains birth records from 1905 for the entire state of Utah.

* Birth records were filed in Utah with the county clerk from 1898 to 1905. The cities of Salt Lake City and Ogden also recorded births prior to the 1898 law which required registration at the county level. Copies of these early Utah birth records may be obtained from the county clerk or city registrar in the county or city where the death occurred.

Anyone applying for a certified copy of a birth certificate in Utah must include identification. For mail-in requests, please include an enlarged and easily identifiable photocopy of the back and front of your identification. Applications without this information will be returned.
Application for Utah Birth Certificate

Utah Death Records:

Dates: From 1905*

Cost of copy: $16.00 (certified)

Comments: The Utah Vital Records & Statistics maintains birth records from 1905 for the entire state of Utah.

* Death records were filed in Utah with the county clerk from 1898 to 1905. Some cities also recorded deaths prior to the 1898 law which required registration at the county level. Copies of these early Utah death records may be obtained from the county clerk or city registrar in the county or city where the death occurred.

Anyone applying for a certified copy of a death certificate in Utah must include identification. For mail-in requests, please include an enlarged and easily identifiable photocopy of the back and front of your identification. Applications without this information will be returned.
Application for Utah Death Certificate

Utah Marriage Records:

Dates: From 1978 (state); varies (county)*

Cost of Copy: $16.00 (state)

Comments: The Utah State Vital Records Department only offers short-form certified copies of marriages - the information is abstracted from the marriage record, rather than it being an actual copy of the original record. If the marriage occurred prior to 1978 or you would like a photocopy of the original marriage record (better for genealogy purposes), you will need to contact the County Clerk in the county where the license was issued to obtain a certified copy.

* Marriage records less than 75-years-old can be obtained from the County Clerk in the county where the marriage occurred. Marriage records older than 75-years are available in the Utah State Archives. Record dates vary by county, with the oldest available Utah marriage records dating back to about 1885.

Anyone applying for a marriage certification in Utah must include identification. For mail-in requests, please include an enlarged and easily identifiable photocopy of the back and front of your identification. Applications without this information will be returned.
Application for Utah Marriage Certification

Utah Marriage Records Online:
Utah Marriage Records, 1887–1914 (requires paid subscription or free trial to Ancestry.com)
Box Elder County Marriage Applications & Licenses, 1887–1942 (free) - images only, no index
Western States Marriage Index (free)


Utah Divorce Records:

Dates: From 1978 (state); varies (county)*

Cost of Copy: $16.00 (state)

Comments: The Utah State Vital Records Department only offers short-form certified copies - the information is abstracted from the divorce record, rather than it being an actual copy of the original record. If the divorce occurred prior to 1978 or you would like a photocopy of the original divorce decree (better for genealogy purposes), you will need to contact the district court in the county where the decree was issued to obtain a certified copy.

* Divorce records from 1896 to the present are generally accessed directly through district courts, though some have made arrangements to store records older than 50 years with the Utah State Archives. Territorial Divorce Records (1852-1895) may have been filed in either the District Court or the county Probate Court. See Divorce Records – Utah State Archives for additional information.

Utah Divorce Records Online:
Divorce Records Indexes – Utah State Archives (free) – indexes for several Utah counties, including Cache, Salt Lake, Davis, and Weber


More US Vital Records - Choose a State


©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.